Today’s Warm Up: Alexander Semenov Ocean Photography

After viewing the photos in the above post, answer the following questions using complete sentences. Post the answers as a comment to this post.

How does light play into these photos? Do you get a sense of wonder, a sense of never seeing anything quite like this before? What is it about these photos that make them look so fresh?  How do these photos make you feel? Which one is your favorite and why?

http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2015/11/alexander-semenov-ocean-photography/

24 thoughts on “Today’s Warm Up: Alexander Semenov Ocean Photography”

  1. How does light play into these photos?
    The photographer uses one light to highlight the subject and make sure it is the main object in the photo.

    Do you get a sense of wonder, a sense of never seeing anything quite like this before?
    Yes, I feel like I haven’t seen something like this before.

    What is it about these photos that make them look so fresh?
    Everything is perfectly in focus. The colors on the subjects, compared to the black background, the light, etc. makes it look overall so clean.

    How do these photos make you feel?
    These photos make me feel happy, satisfied because they look so nice and like they just fit well.

    Which one is your favorite and why?
    My favorite is Cyanea nude. I like this because there is so much going on. So much color, everything is in focus and it doesn’t even look like it is an aquatic animal.

    Like

  2. How does light play into these photos?
    -The creatures all emit light naturally
    Do you get a sense of wonder, a sense of never seeing anything quite like this before?
    -The photos are definitely unique, jelly fish, with their weird biology, are some of the only creatures that could produce images like this.
    What is it about these photos that make them look so fresh?
    -The good lighting and clean shots of the ocean give them that fresh feel.
    How do these photos make you feel?
    -They make me feel a sense of wonder at the mysterious ocean.
    Which one is your favorite and why?
    -Cestum veneris, it almost looks like it’s preforming tricks for the camera.

    Like

  3. I believe that light gives these photos a really cool effect and make the photos more interesting than they are. I have seen of fish in the sea just like those photos but I have never seen them with cool light effects and rich colors. I think that rich colors and the lighting make the underwater sea creatures look interesting. These photos make me feel speechless because they look so awesome. My favorite photo is the first one because I love the color blue and I also like jellyfish because they are one of my favorite sea creatures.

    Like

  4. How does light play into these photos?
    ~ the only light is where the subject is and the rest is a black background on some but on the others there are specks of what could be light coming from creatures that are super small or something else

    Do you get a sense of wonder, a sense of never seeing anything quite like this before?
    ~i do get a sense of wonder , because i have never seen anything like these . i could have never known these species exist or what they even looked like

    What is it about these photos that make them look so fresh?
    ~ i think its the colors in the image and the gracefulness of the subjects that make it so fresh

    How do these photos make you feel?
    ~ They make me feel calm and relaxed and intrigued since i have never seen them before

    Which one is your favorite and why?
    ~ my favorite would have to be Clione limacina because it kinda looks like a water butterfly and it looks really pretty with the colors

    Like

  5. How does light play into these photos?
    -The light seems to bring the color of these sea creatures out and make them “pop”.

    Do you get a sense of wonder, a sense of never seeing anything quite like this before?
    -When I look at these photos, I’ve seen one or two of the subjects in the images, but I have not seen most of them which make them cool and interesting to look at.

    What is it about these photos that make them look so fresh?
    -I think that the colors of the sea creatures makes them fresh and also the fact that they are not a part of typical, everyday life that we see.

    How do these photos make you feel?
    -I feel as if I am watching a documentary on the discovery channel or about underwater life.

    Which one is your favorite and why?
    -My favorite photo would probably be either Cyanea rainbow or Clione limacine. These two are my favorite because they have lots of color and also peak my interest as to what they do and what makes them different from everything else.

    Like

  6. How does light play into these photos? The light fully captures every moment of these photos. Without the light these pictures would not look this good.
    Do you get a sense of wonder, a sense of never seeing anything quite like this before? I have never seen anything like these images before. These are new creatures to my eyes. It makes me wonder what else is down in the deep ocean.
    What is it about these photos that make them look so fresh? Probably how clean and cut they look. It doesn’t look like these images were taken in the water.
    How do these photos make you feel? These photos make me want to explore more.
    Which one is your favorite and why? My favorite is the Clione limacina because it looks so fake but so cute.

    Like

  7. How does light play into these photos? all lights are really bright and standing out.
    Do you get a sense of wonder, a sense of never seeing anything quite like this before? iv’e never seen something like that before and i think that i will never see anything like that.
    What is it about these photos that make them look so fresh? the lights standout and are bright and in full focus, you can see every detail of the picture.
    How do these photos make you feel? they make me feel like im there and see everything with my own eyes.
    Which one is your favorite and why? my favorite one is the 3rd one, it has the most different colors and they really standout, those neon looking colors look amazing.

    Like

  8. Many of these jellyfish have bio-luminescent light within, witch makes them glow. This feature most likely played a big part in achieving the picture.

    Considering that 80% of the world’s oceans have gone unexplored, I feel very curious as to what we can find at the bottom of the ocean in these unexplored parts of the ocean.

    The colors of the creatures really make some interesting forms and shapes, which is even better with the black background these creatures are in front of.

    These photos make me feel strangely scared in a way. Because if these strange looking creatures can be found at the bottom of the ocean, who knows what we could find?

    I like the Aglantha digitale. I like how the magenta of it’s bottom tentacles and the light blue glow in it’s body goes together with each other.

    Like

  9. Light plays a pretty big part of the photos, it helps the subject stand out. I so get a sense of wonder, I wonder how he did this. These photos are different they are for one underwater and they have unique subjects that most people don’t see everyday. These photos make me feel as if I were underwater looking at these or I’m at an aquarium looking at these through the glass, I really like these photos. My favorite is the fourth one, its my favorite because it is really cool and unique looking, the other photos are cool and unique looking but that one is just different to me than the other photos.

    Like

  10. The lighting is very beautiful. It stands out with the darkness engulfing the surroundings. It glows in the dark which makes it stand out the way it does. I get a sense of wonder and I’ve never seen anything like this before and it would be really cool to actually see these creature in real life. The colors of the subject makes it look fresh with the darkened surroundings of its habitat. These photos make s me feel like theirs so many creatures out there that i don’t even know about and it makes me curious on what these creatures are and what they do. My favorite is the 4th one because it has a unique swirl to it and I love the image and its colors. It just captures my attention and I love it.

    Like

  11. The light in these photos make the image looking sharp and clean. These photos really make me wonder what lies deeper in the sea, where it is completely dark. They Look super fresh because the photographer did an amazing job cleaning up around the subject to make the subject more sharp. The color of these creatures really stand out and it seems very glow-like. My favorites are Cyanea rainbow and Eutonina indicans. The photographer really captured the look of these jellyfish and detail plays a big role in these. The way the photographer really made Eutonina indicans glow leaves me in awe.

    Like

  12. How does light play into these photos?
    – Light plays amazing in these photos because if it wasn’t for the flash in these pictures you wouldnt see anything.
    Do you get a sense of wonder, a sense of never seeing anything quite like this before?
    – Yes makes me wonder what really is in are waters that we cant see What is it about these photos that make them look so fresh?
    -What makes them look fresh is the amount of color in the subject alone and how dark everything else is to it
    How do these photos make you feel?
    – Curious on why these animals are so colorful in such dark areas Which one is your favorite and why?
    – Cestum veneris, Italy because its something I’ve genuinely never seen

    Like

  13. How does light play into these photos? The creaters had colorful light like lights
    Do you get a sense of wonder, a sense of never seeing anything quite like this before? yes
    What is it about these photos that make them look so fresh? The lights, the way it looked as if the photo was lively
    How do these photos make you feel? Happy, cirious
    Which one is your favorite and why? My favorite would have to be the first one because i like the lighting and how simpple it is

    Like

  14. How does light play into these photos?
    The light highlights the main subject in the photos.

    Do you get a sense of wonder, a sense of never seeing anything quite like this before?
    yes, i haven’t seen photos like these before.

    What is it about these photos that make them look so fresh? The way he highlights the subject with refreshing colors.

    How do these photos make you feel?
    These photos make me feel refreshed and make me wonder.

    Which one is your favorite and why?
    My favorite is the Snail because it just looks the cleanest to me, and really catches my attention.

    Like

  15. The light highlights the main aspects of the photo. No, these photos are cool but i have seen many like them. The way he highlights the main aspects with the colors. These photos make me feel warm inside with the vivid colors. The first picture of the clear jelly fish because it looks so amazing.

    Like

  16. How does light play into these photos? well I mean some images show that dark side to it. Do you get a sense of wonder, a sense of never seeing anything quite like this before? yeah i do, it makes me want to understand how they did it, and the colors are so great. What is it about these photos that make them look so fresh? I would say color, i love how they play a part in there. It doesn’t look plain at all. How do these photos make you feel? It makes me feel like wow, how did this happened? Which one is your favorite and why? I like the top one, because I like how the jelly fish looks like a candle in a way like there are candles inside the jelly fish. It just looks more interesting.

    Like

  17. How does light play into these photos?
    The light focuses on the subject very well, the black background and the light from the subject makes the image very appealing.

    Do you get a sense of wonder, a sense of never seeing anything quite like this before?
    Yes, because some of these creatures are things i’ve never seen before.

    What is it about these photos that make them look so fresh?
    The black background makes it so that you’re not focusing on anything in the back, but mainly on the creature that the light emits from.

    How do these photos make you feel?
    These photo’s make me feel weird because the very good details coming from the creature look kind of gross.

    Which one is your favorite and why? The Cyanea nude because the details on the creature doesn’t even look like it’s part of the creature. It looks like something totally different.

    Like

  18. How does light play into these photos? The lights play a big part in all these photos from the looks of viewing them. Do you get a sense of wonder, a sense of never seeing anything quite like this before? YES its pretty cool to see unique pictures like these. What is it about these photos that make them look so fresh? the coloring and highlighting in each photo and they’re different in how they look. How do these photos
    make you feel? Entertained by all these colors. Which one is your favorite and why?I say the jellyfish looking one because it has a lot of color and highlights and makes you wonder how is that possible .

    Like

  19. i believe that the light is instrumental to this picture as it draws the eye and paints the animal in an environment that otherwise is entirely black. it does instill a sense of wonder due to the fact that these aquatic bio luminous animals are unlike many other animals on earth due to the extreme darkness and pressure at which they live, giving an alien appearance but i have seen them many times in photos and they give me an alien feeling, like i’m not on earth anymore. my favorite one is the snail one simply cause it makes me believe this sail is an other worldly cousin to regular snails we see plenty of.

    Like

  20. How does light play into these photos? Light allows the photos to pop out and show the beautiful colors of the creatures.
    Do you get a sense of wonder, a sense of never seeing anything quite like this before? I’ve never seen anything like this before.
    What is it about these photos that make them look so fresh? The photographer used highlights and sharpened the photos to make them look the way they are.
    How do these photos make you feel? These photos are amazing. They have great quality, very clear and colorful.
    Which one is your favorite and why? My favorite one is the Cyanea Nude. It’s so colorful and just beautiful.

    Like

  21. How does light play into these photos?
    -The light makes the object stand out.

    Do you get a sense of wonder, a sense of never seeing anything quite like this before?
    – Yes I do get a sense of wonder. These things are so unique and no one knows much about.

    What is it about these photos that make them look so fresh?
    -They look so fresh because there is black surround around them making them stand out .

    How do these photos make you feel?
    – These photos make me feel like there is so much more out there then we know.

    Which one is your favorite and why?
    -The swimming file claim is my favorite because it is so bright and clear and it catched my eye.

    Like

  22. The subject is very well lit which makes the picture look very cool. Because of the lighting and the water the picture looks like it was taken in space. My favorite is the second one there is nothing to compare it to so it can look as big or as small as you want.

    Like

  23. In these photos light adds illumination and really highlights the colors of all the creatures. When I look at these I get a sense of wonder because these are beautiful things that most people will never see in their lifetime. The background in most of the photos is black so the colors of the subjects really stand out and look fresh. My favorite photo is the first one of the jellyfish because it looks like it’s glowing and there’s so many different textures.

    Like

Leave a Reply

